Best Receipt Printer for Small Business: Thermal, Bluetooth and Kitchen
For most UK counters, a wired 80mm thermal printer is the best receipt printer for small business use, once the exact model, mains lead and till software are confirmed.
For most UK counters, a wired 80mm thermal printer is the best receipt printer for small business use. The right model still depends on the till, the card machine and where the printer sits. A hot kitchen pass is a different job from a shop counter.
This guide uses maker specifications and the provider pages linked below. It is not a print test. Compatibility is not inferred from a product family. A Star or Epson name on a box is not a certificate for every Square, SumUp or Shopify setup. Stock notes are from Amazon UK on 7 November 2026, for a London delivery location. Counts change. This page does not type Amazon prices. Check prices again before Black Friday on 27 November 2026.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our verdicts. How we review.
Quick picks
Everyday wired thermal, EU mains code: Epson TM-T20IV (102), USB, serial and Ethernet. This button is not the UK mains part.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: Amazon model C31CL47102. UK dealers list that code as the EU mains version, and C31CL47102A0 as the UK mains version. This button is not C31CL47102A0. The featured offer was New, sold by AIMTECH, and the availability line said only 2 left. That count can change. It was not Amazon Resale. Epson's (102) page did not show a warranty period. A seller bullet says three years. That is seller copy. No warranty is promised for this offer.
Check price on AmazonCompact LAN and USB, exact MCP30 only: Star mC-Print3 MCP30, the EU and UK part with LAN, USB-B and CloudPRNT. It does not have SteadyLAN or Bluetooth. Square's UK page lists this MCP30 for USB and for Ethernet, not every Square device. Shopify's Europe table does not name mC-Print3.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: this MCP30 button's featured offer was New and in stock, sold by Aimact Ltd. No unit count was shown. It was not Amazon Resale. Star's spec table does not state a warranty period, so none is promised for this offer. Confirm the plug on the listing photos.
Check price on AmazonWi-Fi and Bluetooth, EU part (152), not the UK part: Epson TM-m30III (152), black. Shopify's Europe row names the model TM-m30III as Bluetooth/LAN/USB for the United Kingdom. It does not name part (152). That row is not support for this exact offer. SumUp names TM-m30iii without a part number, so this is not a SumUp recommendation.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: this button is model C31CK50152, the EU Wi-Fi and Bluetooth part. It is not the UK part 152A0. Epson's UK Wi-Fi spec table lists a EURO AC cable, so do not assume a UK plug. The featured offer was New, sold by PAC SUPPLIES GLOBAL LTD and sent from Amazon, and the line said only 1 left. That count can change. It was not Amazon Resale. Epson's US sheet states a 2-year limited warranty. The UK pages we opened did not repeat a period. No warranty is promised for this offer.
Check price on AmazonKitchen impact, used offer, interface not confirmed: Epson TM-U220B. Impact paper survives heat that fades thermal tickets. Square lists the model name TM-U220 for Ethernet only. This listing is not a confirmed match to that row.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: the pinned offer was Used: Very Good. The availability line said only 3 left. That is not a count of new units, and no New offer was in the list opened that day. The title says Ethernet and a DK port. A bullet uses the name TM-U220PB, a parallel variant. The interface is ambiguous. It was not described as Amazon Resale. Epson's 12-month carry-in lines belong to discontinued shop SKUs, not a warranty promised for this used offer. The UK plug is not confirmed.
Check price on AmazonBudget wired, Citizen, USB listed: Citizen CT-S310II. The Amazon product overview lists connectivity technology as USB. That field does not show the connector configuration, a serial port, or a UK plug. Citizen's European page pairs USB with RS-232 and a built-in supply. Those extras are not verified on this listing.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: USB is listed. The connector configuration, any serial interface, and the UK plug are not verified. The featured offer was New, sold by KitUP Limited, and the line said usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days. That is not same-day stock. It was not Amazon Resale. Citizen's European page states 2 years including the head and cutter. This listing does not state a warranty, so that period is not promised for this offer.
Check price on AmazonBudget wired, TM-T20III, EU mains code: the older Epson TM-T20III. Shopify's Europe table names TM-T20III inside the T20 and T88 series, sold by third parties. It does not name this part code, so that row is not a UK-mains match.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: this button is C31CH51011. A UK dealer lists that code as the EU USB and serial part with an EU power cable. It is not the UK part 011A0. The featured offer was New, sold by T.I Digital Solution LTD, and the line said only 5 left. That count can change. Another state on the page said no featured offer, so confirm this variation. It was not Amazon Resale. Epson's EU shop page lists 24 months carry-in. That is not a warranty promised for this Amazon offer.
Check price on AmazonSkip for the main till: grey-import Bluetooth printers, including the NETUM below. The NETUM listing itself says it is not compatible with SumUp Air, iZettle or Shopify. There is no button for a Star SP700, and no button for the TSP143IV X4 (UEWB) wireless model.
Match the printer to the till
Start with the POS system you already use. If you have not chosen a card machine, the best card machine for a UK small business guide covers readers. Square Terminal has a built-in printer, so a separate receipt printer is not required for basic receipts on that device.
| Setup | What is actually listed | What this guide will not claim |
|---|---|---|
| Square | Square's UK printer page, checked 7 November 2026, has separate rows: TSP143IV UE on USB, and TSP143IV UE on Ethernet. MCP30 on USB, and MCP30 on Ethernet. TM-U220 on Ethernet only, under kitchen impact. SP742ME and SP742ML on Ethernet, and SP742MU on USB. The page says both ends of the cable must support the connection. | Those rows are the named model and connection, not a family, and not every Square device. They do not certify an Amazon offer, a colour, or stock. TM-U220B on this page is not a confirmed match to the Ethernet row. Not listed: TM-T20IV, TM-T20III, TM-m30III, Citizen CT-S310II, NETUM. A Mobile Transaction roundup names families. That is not Square certification. |
| SumUp | SumUp's UK help article names models, including Epson TM-m30iii and Star mC-Print3 MCP31L. It also says some other Star and Epson printers may work but are not officially supported or tested. | No model on this page is a SumUp recommendation. MCP31L is not the MCP30 button. TSP143IIILAN is not the TSP143IV buttons. TM-m30iii is named without a part number, so neither m30III button is a confirmed SumUp SKU. |
| Shopify POS | Shopify's Europe table, checked 7 November 2026, names TSP143IV UE as the LAN receipt printer. Shopify's TSP143IVUE page says LAN or USB. The same Europe table names TM-m30III as Bluetooth/LAN/USB for the United Kingdom, with no part number, and names TM-T20III inside the T20 and T88 series for third-party sellers. TSP143IV-UEWB is a separate UK row. Shopify's TM-m30III page says to meet the requirements before buying. A front panel that says TSP100 is the range, not the model. | Those rows do not name C31CK50152, 112A0 or C31CH51011, so they are not a match for the EU mains buttons. The Europe table does not name mC-Print3 or TM-T20IV. The North America mC-Print3 row is not UK support. There is no button for TSP143IV-UEWB. |
| Windows PC till | USB or Ethernet on a TM-T20IV (102) or a TM-T20III. The Citizen CT-S310II listing names USB as the connectivity technology. | The Amazon buttons for the Epsons are the EU mains codes C31CL47102 and C31CH51011, not the UK A0 parts. On the Citizen listing, the connector configuration, serial interface and UK plug are not verified. |
| Kitchen or hot pass | Impact printing. Square's row is the model name TM-U220 on Ethernet, not every TM-U220 variant. | Thermal paper fades in heat. On 7 November 2026 the Amazon TM-U220B pinned offer was Used: Very Good. The title says Ethernet and a bullet says TM-U220PB, so it is not a confirmed match to Square's Ethernet row. |
| Market stall | A portable Bluetooth printer only if the card app supports that exact model. The NETUM listing is a grey-import caution, not a main-till pick. | Bluetooth on the box is not proof the app can print. |
PayPal reader pairings are not covered here. Check PayPal's own hardware notes before you buy a printer for that reader.
Thermal or impact
Thermal printers are quick and quiet, and they do not use ink. They suit shop counters, cafes and most front-of-house tills. The paper is the limit. Heat darkens or fades a thermal ticket, so a grill, a heat lamp or a sunny window is a poor place to leave the roll or the receipt.
Impact printers press through plain or multi-part paper. That is the kitchen choice. They are noisier. Epson's TM-U220 series is rated in lines per second, not in the mm/s figure used for thermal printers, so the two speeds are not one comparison. Star's SP700 series is another impact option. Square's UK page lists specific SP742 Ethernet and USB models. This guide has no Amazon button for an SP700, because a clean new UK offer was not verified on 7 November 2026.
The picks
Epson TM-T20IV: best everyday wired thermal
Epson UK's TM-T20IV (102) page describes USB, serial and Ethernet, 250 mm/s, an 80mm print width, automatic paper reduction and a mechanism life of 15 million lines. The USB and serial-only model is a different part, TM-T20IV (101). That (101) page lists 24 months carry-in, and the box contents include a EURO AC cable. The (102) page we opened did not show a warranty line or a box list in the extracted specs.
- Who it is for: a Windows PC till that needs a wired counter printer, after you confirm the mains lead.
- Who it is not for: an iPad-only till that needs the POS provider to approve a wireless printer, or a hot kitchen. Square and Shopify do not list the TM-T20IV.
- Interface: USB, serial and Ethernet on the (102). Not Wi-Fi.
- Paper: 80mm thermal, with a narrower roll if the spacer is fitted. Epson lists about 79.5mm and about 57.5mm.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: the Amazon model is C31CL47102, the EU mains code. UK dealers list C31CL47102A0 as the UK mains part. This button is not that A0 part. The featured offer was New, sold by AIMTECH, and the availability line said only 2 left. That count can change. It was not Amazon Resale. Epson's (102) page did not show a warranty period. A seller bullet says three years, and dealer pages say two years. Neither line is a warranty this guide promises.
Check price on AmazonStar mC-Print3 MCP30: compact LAN and USB
Star EMEA's mC-Print3 page splits the range. MCP30 is Ethernet LAN, USB-B and CloudPRNT, at 250 mm/s, on 80mm paper, with a guillotine cutter. SteadyLAN, USB-C power delivery and Bluetooth are on the MCP31CI and MCP31CBI models, not on MCP30. The EU and UK MCP30 parts are 39654090 (white) and 39654190 (black). Star says the box includes the printer, a PS60C power supply, a power cable, a paper guide and a setup guide. The spec table does not state a warranty period, so this guide does not invent one. A separate accessory line lists a UK power lead for a replacement PS60, which is not proof of which plug is in every box.
The Amazon title is MCP30 BK EU/UK, black, 80mm, 250 mm/s, LAN, USB, CloudPRNT and autocut. Some bullets on that listing describe a different kind of printer, including a pages-per-minute figure and manual double-sided printing. Ignore those bullets. Use Star's model table.
Square lists MCP30 for USB and for Ethernet, in the section Square describes as stationary printers for places that are not greasy or hot. SumUp's named mC-Print3 is MCP31L, not MCP30. Shopify's Europe table, checked the same day, does not name mC-Print3.
- Who it is for: a fixed counter whose POS provider lists this exact MCP30 and the USB or Ethernet connection you will use.
- Who it is not for: a kitchen in heat or grease, or a tablet setup that needs SteadyLAN charging. Do not buy MCP30 because a review described SteadyLAN on "the mC-Print3".
- Interface: LAN and USB-B, plus CloudPRNT. Not Bluetooth.
- Paper: 80mm thermal. A 58mm guide is optional.
- UK plug: Star calls the part the EU and UK version and includes a power cable. Confirm the plug moulding on the listing photos.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: the featured offer was New and in stock, sold by Aimact Ltd. No unit count was shown. It was not Amazon Resale. Square's rows for this exact MCP30 are USB and Ethernet, not SteadyLAN and not every Square device. Shopify's Europe table does not name mC-Print3. Star's spec table states no warranty period, so none is promised. Confirm the plug on the listing photos.
Check price on AmazonEpson TM-m30III: two different buttons
Epson UK's Wi-Fi and Bluetooth page is for the white UK part 151A0. It lists USB-C power delivery, built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, IPX2 liquid protection and an antibacterial surface. The same spec table lists a EURO AC cable and a PS-190 supply, even on that UK page, so a "UK" label is not a substitute for looking at the plug. Epson's US specification sheet states a 2-year limited warranty for the TM-m30III. The UK pages we opened did not repeat a warranty period in the extracted specs. Confirm the card in the box. Print speed on the UK Wi-Fi page is up to 300 mm/s. That figure is not a reason to assume every interface SKU is the same product.
Wi-Fi and Bluetooth button, EU part (152). Shopify's Europe row names TM-m30III as Bluetooth/LAN/USB for the United Kingdom, with no part number. That row is not this offer. Square's tables did not list TM-m30III. SumUp names TM-m30iii without a part number, so this is not a SumUp recommendation.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: model C31CK50152, the EU Wi-Fi and Bluetooth part. It is not UK 152A0. Epson's UK Wi-Fi spec table lists a EURO AC cable, so do not assume a UK plug. The featured offer was New, sold by PAC SUPPLIES GLOBAL LTD and sent from Amazon, and the line said only 1 left. That count can change. It was not Amazon Resale. The US sheet states a 2-year limited warranty. The UK pages we opened did not repeat a period. No warranty is promised for this offer.
Check price on AmazonStandard wired button, part 112A0, not the Wi-Fi part. The listing title says UK wired, model name TM-m30 III (112A0), number C31CK50112A0. Epson's series description for the standard model is USB-C, USB-B and Ethernet. Shopify's Bluetooth/LAN/USB row does not name 112A0. Square's tables did not list TM-m30III.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: this is part 112A0 (C31CK50112A0), not the Wi-Fi (152) part. The pinned offer was New and in stock, sold by MoreCoCo. A Used offer was also listed, so read the condition word. The plug is not confirmed. Epson's UK Wi-Fi spec table lists a EURO AC cable, and the UK label on 112A0 is not proof of the lead. No UK warranty period was on the pages we opened, so none is promised for this offer.
Check price on Amazon- Who it is for: a phone or tablet till only where that provider lists the exact part and the connection. Shopify's Europe table names TM-m30III for the United Kingdom, and tells you to meet the requirements first. Square's UK printer tables we checked did not list TM-m30III.
- Who it is not for: a kitchen, or a SumUp setup. SumUp names "TM-m30iii" without this part number. This guide does not recommend either button for SumUp.
- Paper: 80mm thermal.
Star TSP143IV UE: the counter model Square names
Star EMEA's TSP100IV page lists the TSP143IV UE with USB-C, USB-A, Ethernet and CloudPRNT, an internal power supply, a power cable in the box, 250 mm/s and 80mm paper (58mm with the included guide). The EU and UK part numbers are 39473090 (grey) and 39473190 (white). Star states a 4 year warranty, including the print head and cutter, on TSP100IV models. The wireless X4 is a different part, TSP143IV UEWB, with Bluetooth and dual-band Wi-Fi. There is no button for that X4 model.
Square's UK page lists the model TSP143IV UE on USB, and the same model on Ethernet. Shopify's Europe table names TSP143IV UE as the LAN receipt printer, and Shopify's model page also says USB. Those rows do not cover the wireless UEWB, which has no button here, and they do not certify an Amazon offer or a colour. SumUp's named Star counter model is TSP143IIILAN, not TSP143IV. A front logo that says TSP100 is the range. Read the model label on the underside. Star states a 4 year warranty, including the head and cutter, for TSP100IV models. That is Star's model statement, not a promise that an Amazon seller will honour it.
Black button. Offer checked 7 November 2026: the title matches TSP143IV UE BK E+U. There was no featured offer. Two New offers appeared from other sellers. No unit count is stated, because the featured box was empty. Check the seller, the condition and the plug. Square's USB and Ethernet rows, and Shopify's LAN or USB pages, do not mean this ASIN had a featured offer.
Check price on AmazonWhite button. Offer checked 7 November 2026: the title says WT (white) and E+U, and the model field says TSP143IV UE WT. A colour attribute on the same page says Black, and the bullets describe an unrelated tag reader. Those fields disagree with the title. Use the title and the photos. The featured offer was New and in stock, sold by Commandear LTD. It was not Amazon Resale. Square's USB and Ethernet rows, and Shopify's LAN or USB pages, do not confirm this offer's colour. Star's 4 year model statement is not a promise this seller will honour it. Confirm the plug.
Check price on Amazon- Who it is for: a fixed counter, if your POS page lists TSP143IV UE on the connection you will use.
- Who it is not for: a market stall, a kitchen, or a SumUp reader, on the evidence above.
Epson TM-U220B: kitchen impact, used offer
The TM-U220 is an impact receipt and kitchen printer. Epson's series material lists paper widths of 76mm, 69.5mm and 58.5mm, a PS-180 power supply, and a separate UK AC cable as an accessory on one datasheet, so the mains lead is not something to assume. Epson UK shows the USB part 007A0 and the Ethernet part 057BE as discontinued, each with 12 months carry-in on those pages. Those warranty lines belong to those discontinued SKUs. They are not automatically the warranty on a used marketplace unit.
- Who it is for: a hot pass, only if you accept a used unit or find a new one whose interface you have checked.
- Who it is not for: a quiet front counter. Thermal is faster and quieter there.
- Paper: impact paper, not the 80mm thermal rolls below. Check the width.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: the pinned offer was Used: Very Good. The availability line said only 3 left. That is not a count of new units. No New offer was in the list opened that day. The title says Ethernet and a DK port. A bullet uses the name TM-U220PB. Square's row is TM-U220 on Ethernet, and this listing is not a confirmed match to that row. It was not described as Amazon Resale. The 12-month carry-in lines are for discontinued Epson shop SKUs, not a warranty promised for this used offer. The UK plug is not confirmed.
Check price on AmazonCitizen CT-S310II and Epson TM-T20III: budget wired
Citizen's European CT-S310II page lists RS-232 and USB together, 160 mm/s, a built-in 100 to 240V supply, and 2 years including the head and cutter. The Amazon product overview lists connectivity technology as USB. It does not show the connector configuration, a serial port, or a UK plug, and the visible bullet says Portable. Do not treat the maker's serial interface or power supply as confirmed for this offer.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: USB is listed. The connector configuration, any serial interface, and the UK plug are not verified. The featured offer was New, sold by KitUP Limited, usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days. That is not same-day stock. It was not Amazon Resale. The 2 year line is Citizen's European page. This listing does not state a warranty, so that period is not promised for this offer.
Check price on AmazonThe TM-T20III is the printer the TM-T20IV replaces. Epson UK's EU USB and serial page lists 250 mm/s and 24 months carry-in. The spec table we could read showed RS-232 and a drawer port more clearly than USB, while the product name says USB and serial. Confirm both ports on the unit. Epson's UK shop marks the UK part 011A0 as discontinued. Shopify's Europe table names TM-T20III in the T20 and T88 series for third-party sellers. It does not name C31CH51011.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: this button is C31CH51011, which a UK dealer lists as the EU USB and serial part with an EU power cable. It is not the UK part 011A0. The featured offer was New, sold by T.I Digital Solution LTD, and the line said only 5 left. That count can change. Another state on the page said no featured offer, so confirm this variation. It was not Amazon Resale. The 24 month line is Epson's EU shop page, not a warranty promised for this Amazon offer.
Check price on Amazon- Who they are for: a single Windows till, after the plug and the ports are confirmed.
- Who they are not for: a tablet till that needs a provider-approved wireless printer.
- Paper: 80mm thermal class, with a 58mm option on the Epson models that include a spacer.
NETUM 80mm Bluetooth: stall only, grey import
The Amazon title is NETUM NT-8003, an 80mm Bluetooth receipt printer. The listing says ESC/POS and Star command sets, Bluetooth 4.0, a rechargeable battery, and paper of about 80mm width with a 40mm roll diameter. A colour attribute says "UK Plug". That field is not proof of a UK mains lead or of UK warranty support. The same listing says: not compatible with SumUp Air, iZettle or Shopify. This is a grey import. It is not a main-till printer, and it is not a SumUp, Shopify or Square recommendation. Square's printer tables we checked did not list it.
- Who it is for: an occasional stall, only if the card app supports this exact printer, and you can accept uncertain UK support.
- Who it is not for: the main till.
- Paper: the listing's 40mm maximum diameter means a full 80x80mm counter roll may not fit.
Offer checked 7 November 2026: the featured offer was New and in stock, sold by NETUM Official store and sent from Amazon. It was not Amazon Resale. No unit count was shown. The listing says it is not compatible with SumUp Air, iZettle or Shopify. A colour field that says "UK Plug" is not proof of a UK lead or of a UK warranty. No UK warranty is promised. The stated roll diameter is about 40mm, so an 80x80mm counter roll may not fit.
Check price on AmazonPaper
The counter thermal printers above are 80mm machines. Several Epson and Star models also accept about 58mm paper with a guide. Keep spare thermal rolls out of sunlight and away from heat. Do not buy these rolls for the TM-U220B. That printer uses impact paper.
20-roll button. Offer checked 7 November 2026: the title and the bullets say 80 x 80 mm. A manufacturer field on the same page says RAP Gloves, which does not match a paper product. That mismatch is not a brand claim. The featured offer was New and in stock, sold by Fast Products Distribution Limited. It was not Amazon Resale. Read the size on the listing before you order.
Check price on Amazon5-roll button. Offer checked 7 November 2026: the title says 80 x 80. A bullet on the same page says each roll is about 57mm wide and 40mm long. Those widths contradict each other, so the size is unverified. Do not treat this as a confirmed 80mm pack, and do not assume it fits the NETUM. The pinned offer was New and in stock. It was not Amazon Resale.
Check price on AmazonFAQ
What type of receipt printer is best for a small shop or cafe?
A wired 80mm thermal printer, for a counter that is not beside a grill. The TM-T20IV button is the EU mains code C31CL47102, not the UK part C31CL47102A0. For Square, the official rows are TSP143IV UE on USB and on Ethernet, and MCP30 on USB and on Ethernet. The black TSP143IV button had no featured offer on 7 November 2026. Match the row to your Square device.
Do I need thermal or impact?
Thermal for the counter. Impact for the kitchen. Thermal paper fades in heat.
Which printers work with Square or SumUp?
Square's UK page lists TSP143IV UE on USB and on Ethernet, and MCP30 on USB and on Ethernet. It lists TM-U220 on Ethernet only. It does not list the TM-m30III, TM-T20IV or TM-T20III buttons. The TM-U220B button is not a confirmed match to that Ethernet row. SumUp names TM-m30iii without a part number, and MCP31L rather than the MCP30 button. This guide does not recommend a SumUp printer.
How much does a receipt printer cost in the UK?
Prices move, and this page does not type Amazon prices. Use the buttons, and check again before Black Friday on 27 November 2026. The Citizen CT-S310II listing names USB, and the connector, serial port and UK plug are not verified. The TM-T20III button is the EU mains code.
Can I use a Bluetooth printer with a phone card machine?
Only if that provider supports the exact printer and connection. Bluetooth on a listing is not enough. SumUp, Square and Shopify do not share one approved Bluetooth list.
Do kitchens need a different printer?
Usually, yes. An impact printer such as the TM-U220 class is the heat-safe type. The Amazon TM-U220B button was a Used: Very Good offer on 7 November 2026, and the interface text on the listing is inconsistent. Confirm a new unit, the interface and the paper before you rely on it.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More from AI & Tools: best laser printer for small business, best label printer for small business, best barcode scanner for small business and best document scanner for small business. Card machines are in Run the Business, including the UK card machine guide. Read how we review.
Keep reading
- Run the Business Best Card Machine for Small Business UK: Fees and Readers Compared
- AI & Tools Best Laser Printer for Small Business: Mono and Colour Picks
- AI & Tools Best Label Printer for Small Business in 2026
- AI & Tools Best Barcode Scanner for Small Business Inventory and POS
- AI & Tools Best Document Scanner for Small Business and Going Paperless