Independent small-business guides Reader-supported

Modern Business Daily

Tools, tactics and straight answers for solopreneurs, AI builders and small teams.

AI & Tools

Best Cash Drawer for Small Business: Printer Kick, Size and Layout

For most UK counters, the best cash drawer for small business use is a printer-driven drawer whose voltage matches that printer. The model name alone does not tell you the voltage.

By MBD editorial team, edited by Robert Thomas · November 2026 · 14 min read

Heads up: some links in our guides are affiliate links, which may earn us a commission at no cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. See our disclosure policy.
Open cash drawer in a shop till, with banknotes under metal clips and coins in round cups, and part of the till keyboard visible.

For most UK shops and cafes, the best cash drawer for small business use is a printer-driven drawer with a tray that can hold sterling notes and coins, once the voltage and the kick port are confirmed. Check how the till will open the drawer first. Then check that the drawer fits the counter.

This guide uses Safescan product sheets and the Safescan UK store, Square's UK till-drawer page, Pos-Hardware's UK drawer guide, an APG Vasario brochure, a Star mPOP specification, and Amazon UK listings. It is not a kick test. Offers were checked on 8 November 2026 for a London delivery location. An RJ11 or RJ12 plug is not a universal connector, and a family name is not a certificate for one Amazon offer. This page does not type Amazon prices, and it does not quote unit counts, because those change.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our verdicts. How we review.

Quick picks

Best overall, 24V printer kick: Safescan SD-4141 article 132-0750, not the older listing. Safescan's UK store says the SD-4141 is available in 12V and in 24V, so the model name is not the voltage. A Safescan sheet for article 132-0750, EAN 8717496339096, states 24V and an RJ12 cable. The Amazon manufacturer number and EAN on the button below match that sheet.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: the buying option was New. Shipper and seller: Semantic UK, not Amazon. The availability line said usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days. That timing can change. It was not Amazon Resale, and the buy box was not labelled Amazon Global Store. Safescan's sheet states a 3 year warranty. The offer line was Amazon's legal-warranty wording, so that 3 years is not promised for this seller. The RJ12 lead is not proof the pins match your printer.

Check price on Amazon

Budget Safescan, voltage not confirmed: LD-4141. Same 41 x 41.5 x 11.5 cm size class as the SD-4141, with a 4-note and 8-coin layout on Safescan's sheet for article 132-0423. That sheet rates power as 12-24V. The Amazon listing does not state a voltage. Confirm it before you connect a printer.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: the buying option was New, and the shipper / seller line said Amazon. The availability line said in stock. It was not Amazon Resale, and the buy box was not labelled Amazon Global Store. A product-details field says 3 years. That is catalogue text. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget, so this guide does not promise those 3 years for this offer. The GTIN on the listing is 8717496333155, which is article 132-0423. A retailer titles that same code as 12V. Do not assume 24V.

Check price on Amazon

Compact 13-inch, 24V interface code, cable not confirmed: APG Vasario part VB320-BL1313-B26. In APG's brochure, 1313 is 335 x 335 x 100 mm, and interface 320 is MultiPRO 24V. The same brochure says 320 needs a detachable cable sold separately, and that till option B26 is a fixed 5 x 8 Euro tray. The Amazon title says 4B/8C. Those two tray descriptions do not agree. This is not a USB drawer. Square's UK USB rows name VB554A, not VB320.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: the buying option was New. Shipper and seller: posvalley, not APG and not Amazon. The availability line said in stock. It was not Amazon Resale, and the buy box was not labelled Amazon Global Store. APG's brochure states a 3 year limited warranty, with repairs made at APG's facility. The listing has no warranty field, and the offer line was the legal-warranty widget, so that 3 years is not promised for this seller. Confirm the cable and the tray photos.

Check price on Amazon

Tablet till, printer and drawer in one unit: Star mPOP, Amazon title part 39650290, Bluetooth, EU/UK, black. Star's specification gives the basic size as approximately 308 x 300 x 100 mm (width x depth x height). The chart uses that 308 mm width. Amazon's dimensions field says 30 cm wide, which does not match, so it is not the comparison. Square's UK page lists mPOP on USB and, as a separate row, mPOP on Bluetooth. Those rows do not name 39650290. A colour field on the Amazon page said White, which disagrees with the black title. UK dealers describe this part as discontinued. The listing still had a New offer on 8 November 2026.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: the buying option was New. Shipper and seller: PAC SUPPLIES GLOBAL LTD. That company name is not an Amazon Global Store badge. The buy box was not labelled Amazon Global Store, and it was not Amazon Resale. The availability line said in stock. A bullet says a 2 year manufacturer's warranty. A different field says EU spare-part availability of 2 years. Those are not the same thing, and neither is promised here beyond the listing text. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget. Confirm the colour and the plug on the photos. The listing's iZettle and Vend line is seller copy, not a current certificate.

Check price on Amazon

Skip for a 24V printer port: the main SD-4141 listing B00AUV6FOO. Its bullet says an RJ12 port (12V). Its GTIN is 8717496333179, which older Safescan sheets label as article 132-0425 and rate as 12-24V. Those statements do not agree. There is no button for B00AUV6FOO. Also skip any 12V drawer on a 24V printer port. Pos-Hardware warns that this can burn out the solenoid.

Printer, till and drawer

Pos-Hardware says most UK mobile till apps, including Shopify, Square, Zettle and SumUp, do not connect to a drawer themselves. The usual path is a receipt printer's drawer-kick port, with an RJ11 or RJ12 lead, and a 24V pulse. The same guide says the plug is not universal: some Star printers need a Star-to-standard cable because the pins differ. If you have not chosen the printer, start with the best receipt printer for small business guide, and match the drawer to that exact printer.

Slide the table sideways on a narrow screen. The last column is the offer note from 8 November 2026. The same note sits in full under each button.

Your setupWhat actually opens the drawerPick on this pageChecked 8 November 2026
Epson or Star printer with a DK port A kick pulse from that printer. Pos-Hardware says the usual UK pulse is 24V, and that pinouts can differ. An RJ plug is not a match by itself. Safescan SD-4141 article 132-0750 (B0HLX81QYR). Tera 4042G (B0DNT9NSBQ) only as a listing that states 24V in the title. Not B00AUV6FOO. 132-0750 was New from Semantic UK, usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days, not Amazon Resale, not a Global Store badge. The 3 year line is Safescan's sheet, not this offer. Tera was New, shipper / seller Amazon, in stock, no warranty field, and no maker sheet was found for FN-4042G. Its "most printer brands" bullet is not a pinout check.
Square, Shopify, Zettle or SumUp, plus a printer Through the printer, not from the phone app. Square says Terminal needs an external printer before a printer-driven drawer will work. The same two listings as the row above, and only if that printer's manual matches the drawer. Square's family row "all printer-driven models" does not certify an Amazon offer, a cable or a voltage. No button on this page is a Square USB drawer.
Square hardware with a USB drawer USB only for the models Square names: APG Arlo, VB554A, T554A and EKDS448-2-W410-A22. mPOP is listed separately, on USB and on Bluetooth. No button for those APG USB parts. The Vasario button is VB320, which is MultiPRO 24V, not VB554A. The mPOP button is title part 39650290. Do not read "USB" on a trigger box, or an RJ lead, as Square USB support. 39650290 was New from PAC SUPPLIES GLOBAL LTD. A colour field said White. The title says black.
Tablet till, no separate printer A combined printer and drawer, or a printer the till app supports. Not a lone RJ drawer. Star mPOP (B01MCWE7AV). Compare it on Star's basic size, approximately 308 x 300 x 100 mm (width x depth x height). The chart bar is that 308 mm width. Amazon's dimensions field says 10 cm deep, 30 cm wide and 10 cm high, and a bullet says 30 x 30 with no unit. Those figures conflict with the specification and are not the comparison. Same offer as the quick pick. Square's mPOP rows do not name 39650290. No clean Amazon UK listing for a Star mC-Connect adapter was used here.
Windows PC till, no printer A trigger between the PC and a drawer. Safescan's UC-100 sheet is an RJ-12 to USB converter for Safescan drawers, USB powered, stated for 12V or 24V Safescan drawers. It is not a USB port on the drawer, and it is not a match for every RJ12 drawer. UC-100 article 121-0578 (B07CR3M2TG) with a Safescan drawer whose voltage you have confirmed. The till software still has to send the open command. New, shipper / seller Paperstone, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not a Global Store badge. Safescan's sheet says 3 years. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget, so that period is not promised for this seller. Listing fields that say Multicolour and a German size word do not describe the trigger.
Narrow bar or pub A flip-top, if nothing has to sit on the lid. Voltage still has to match the printer. Safescan SD-4617S (B00AHUQ39A). The listing does not state a voltage. New, shipper / seller Amazon, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not a Global Store badge. A catalogue field says 3 years. That is not this offer's warranty line. Safescan's Ireland page lists Power 12V, and sheets also say 12-24V. Confirm the unit before a 24V port.
Market stall, no power A push or key. No kick port and no voltage. Infinity EPOS MK-410 (B07NJCMY3B). The first shipper / seller line was Infinity EPOS, and the buying option included New. Another line named Cashregistergroup, and a Used option was also present. Read the condition and the seller. Not described as Amazon Resale. Not a Global Store badge. The product description says Warranty: 1 year. That is the listing's claim, not an independent check of cover, and the offer line was only the legal-warranty widget.
Card-only, digital receipts No drawer. None. A lockable cash box can hold a small float. Card machines are in the UK card machine guide. No Amazon button.
Bar chart of cash drawer widths in millimetres, checked 8 November 2026. Star mPOP maker width 308 mm, from Star's basic size of approximately 308 x 300 x 100 mm (width x depth x height). Amazon's dimensions field says 30 cm wide and is not the bar. APG Vasario 1313 335. Safescan LD-4141 410. Safescan SD-4141 410. Infinity EPOS MK-410 410. Tera 4042G 420. Safescan SD-4617S flip-top 460 wide and 170 deep. The SD-4141 bar is width only and is not a voltage.
Cash drawer widths in millimetres, checked 8 November 2026. Star mPOP is the maker size, not the Amazon size: Star's mPOP specification, revision 5.40, gives the basic size as approximately 308 x 300 x 100 mm (width x depth x height), and the height includes the rubber feet. The chart bar is that 308 mm width. Amazon's dimensions field on the same listing says 10 cm deep, 30 cm wide and 10 cm high, and a bullet says 30 x 30 with no unit. Those Amazon figures conflict with the specification, so the chart does not compare with them. The other bars are Amazon UK listing widths. APG Vasario 1313: 335. Safescan LD-4141: 410. Safescan SD-4141: 410. Infinity EPOS MK-410: 410. Tera 4042G: 420. Safescan SD-4617S flip-top: 460 wide and only 170 deep. The 410 mm SD-4141 bar is the shared listing width. It is not a voltage. Article 132-0750 is the 24V sheet. Listing B00AUV6FOO is the one whose bullet says 12V. The chart does not type Amazon prices, and it is not a measurement this guide made. Measure the counter before you buy. Pos-Hardware's size bands are about 330 mm compact, 410 mm standard and 460 x 170 mm flip-top.

12V and 24V

Pos-Hardware says 24V is what most UK receipt printers from Star, Epson and Bixolon supply, and that connecting a 12V drawer to a 24V printer can burn out the solenoid. Check the printer manual. Do not treat an RJ11 or RJ12 plug as proof of the voltage or of the pinout.

Safescan's UK SD-4141 page says the model is available in 12V and in 24V. The Amazon button on this page is not "an SD-4141". It is manufacturer number 132-0750, EAN 8717496339096. Safescan's sheet for that article lists power as 24V, an RJ12 cable, 4 note and 8 coin compartments, 41.0 x 41.5 x 11.5 cm, and a 3 year warranty. The other listing, B00AUV6FOO, uses GTIN 8717496333179. Older sheets call that code article 132-0425 and rate it 12-24V, while the Amazon bullet says RJ12 port (12V). This guide does not call B00AUV6FOO a 24V drawer.

The LD-4141 listing and the SD-4617S listing do not state a voltage. Safescan's sheet for LD-4141 article 132-0423 says 12-24V. A Safescan Ireland page lists the SD-4617S as 12V, while other sheets say 12-24V and also "RJ12 (12V)". Keep both as confirm-before-you-connect. The SD-4617S listing also carries two GTIN values, so do not assume every box on that page is one voltage.

Size and tray

Pos-Hardware gives these typical UK sizes. A standard front-opening drawer is about 410 x 415 x 110 mm and about 7 kg. A compact drawer is about 330 x 330 x 100 mm and about 5 kg. A flip-top is about 460 x 170 x 100 mm and about 5.5 kg, for a narrow bar, and nothing can sit on the lid.

For sterling, Pos-Hardware recommends at least 4 note slots and 8 coin slots. A media slot lets staff drop a cheque or a high-value note without opening the drawer. A key that can open the drawer during a power cut is worth having. Those are layout notes, not a claim that every listing below is a sterling tray.

The picks

Safescan SD-4141 article 132-0750: best overall when the printer is 24V

The sheet for 132-0750 describes a steel drawer, a removable tray, 4 note and 8 coin compartments, a media slot, a 3-position lock, an RJ12 cable and a test figure of at least 1 million openings. Safescan's UK store repeats the 1 million figure and the 3 year warranty for the SD-4141 range, and it says the range comes in 12V and 24V. Use the article number, not the range page, when you order.

  • Who it is for: a UK counter whose receipt printer manual specifies a 24V kick, after you confirm the pinout.
  • Who it is not for: a tablet with no printer, a counter that cannot spare about 410 mm, or anyone buying listing B00AUV6FOO and hoping the model name means 24V.
  • Interface: RJ12 on the 132-0750 sheet. Not USB. Not a universal printer match.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, sold and shipped by Semantic UK, usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days. That timing can change. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. The 3 year line is Safescan's sheet and store, not a warranty this offer states. The legal-warranty widget is all the offer itself showed.

Check price on Amazon

Safescan LD-4141: budget drawer, voltage unconfirmed

Safescan's UK range lists the LD-4141 as the lighter drawer: 41 x 41.5 x 11.5 cm, 4 notes and 8 coins, RJ-12, tested up to 500,000 openings, available in 12V and 24V. The sheet for article 132-0423, the GTIN on this Amazon listing, says power 12-24V rather than one voltage. The listing itself never says 12V or 24V.

  • Who it is for: a quieter counter that wants this brand, after the seller or the label on the unit confirms the voltage.
  • Who it is not for: a busy till where you wanted the 1 million opening figure, or a 24V printer if you have not confirmed the drawer.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper / seller Amazon, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. The catalogue field says 3 years. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget. Do not treat the catalogue field as the offer. Ask for the voltage before you connect a printer. An RJ-12 lead does not answer that question.

Check price on Amazon

APG Vasario 1313: compact, 24V code, tray and cable to check

APG's Vasario brochure decodes VB320-BL1313-B26. VB is a painted front with media slots. 320 is MultiPRO 24V, and the brochure says that interface needs a detachable cable sold separately. 1313 is 335 x 335 x 100 mm. BL is black. B26, in the 1313 options, is a fixed 5 x 8 Euro till. The Amazon title says "Euro/GBP 4B/8C" and includes the letters SLANDCABL. This guide does not treat that title as proof of a 4-note sterling tray or of a cable that matches your printer. Square's UK USB row for APG is VB554A and other named parts, not this 320 part.

  • Who it is for: a small counter with a 24V printer, after the cable and the tray insert are confirmed on the listing photos.
  • Who it is not for: a high note volume, a USB-only Square setup, or a buyer who needs the title's 4-bill claim to be the part code.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper and seller posvalley, in stock. Not Amazon, not APG, not Amazon Resale, and not labelled Amazon Global Store. No warranty field on the listing. APG's 3 year limited warranty is the brochure, not this offer.

Check price on Amazon

Tera 4042G: full-size listing that states 24V

The Amazon title says 24V, an RJ12 interface, 42 x 40.5 x 10.4 cm, 5 bill slots and 8 coin slots, a removable coin tray, a media slot and six keys. The model field is FN-4042G. This guide did not find a separate Tera specification sheet for that model, so the 24V claim rests on the listing, not on a maker document. A bullet says the drawer is compatible with most major printer brands. That sentence is seller copy. It is not a pinout check, and this guide does not repeat it as a fact.

  • Who it is for: a counter that wants a full-size drawer whose listing states 24V in the title, and who will still check the printer manual.
  • Who it is not for: a buyer who wants a maker warranty document, or a 4-note sterling tray. This listing says 5 bill slots.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper / seller Amazon, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. The listing's country of origin is China. That is not an Amazon Global Store badge, and it is not a warranty exclusion this page can quote, because the listing has no warranty field. No warranty is promised for this offer. The legal-warranty widget is Amazon's statutory line.

Check price on Amazon

Safescan SD-4617S: flip-top, voltage unconfirmed

The listing measures 46 x 17 x 10 cm, with 6 note slots, 8 coin slots, a media slot and an RJ-12 cable. A bullet says a three-position lock. Safescan's Ireland page lists a 2-position lock and Power 12V, and it says the RJ-12 port is 12V. Other Safescan sheets say 12-24V in the specification table and "RJ12 (12V)" in the description. The Amazon page does not choose between those. It also lists two GTIN values. Nothing should sit on a flip-top lid.

  • Who it is for: a narrow bar, after the voltage printed on the unit is confirmed.
  • Who it is not for: a 24V printer port you have not checked, or a counter where the printer has to sit on the drawer.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper / seller Amazon, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. A catalogue field says 3 years. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget. Do not connect this listing to a 24V port on the model name alone.

Check price on Amazon

Star mPOP: tablet till without a separate printer

The Amazon title is Star Micronics 39650290, mPOP printer and cash drawer, black, Bluetooth, EU/UK. Star's mPOP general specification, revision 5.40, gives the basic size as approximately 308 mm wide, 300 mm deep and 100 mm high. The height includes the rubber feet. That 308 x 300 x 100 mm size is what this guide compares, and the chart bar is the 308 mm width. On the same Amazon page, the dimensions field says 10 cm deep, 30 cm wide and 10 cm high, and a bullet says "30 x 30" with no unit, plus a USB socket for charging a tablet, 60 mm thermal rolls, and compatibility with iZettle, Vend and other POS systems. Those Amazon size figures conflict with the specification, so they are flagged here and not used for the comparison. Square's UK cash-drawer table lists mPOP for USB and mPOP for Bluetooth, marked as a combined printer and drawer, without this part number. Square's printer table names mPOP POP10Ci for USB as a different row. This button is not that USB part.

Star's mPOP specification says an E+U destination includes a UK mains lead and an EU mains lead. That is the destination code, not a photo of this offer. UK dealer pages describe 39650290 as a discontinued black Bluetooth unit. The Amazon colour field said White.

  • Who it is for: a tablet till that needs one unit for receipts and cash, after the photos match the black 39650290 title and your app lists this model.
  • Who it is not for: a busy counter that needs a 410 mm drawer, or a setup that only works with the USB POP10Ci.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper and seller PAC SUPPLIES GLOBAL LTD, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. The name of the seller is not that badge. The 2 year bullet is listing copy. The spare-part field is not a warranty period. The offer line was the legal-warranty widget. No warranty is promised here beyond what the seller states on the day you order.

Check price on Amazon

Pos-Hardware also describes a Star adapter for using a normal drawer with a tablet. This guide did not use an Amazon UK button for that adapter.

Safescan UC-100: USB trigger, not a USB drawer

Safescan's UC-100 page describes an RJ-12 to USB converter: the drawer lead goes into the trigger, and the trigger goes into a USB port on the PC. The product sheet for article 121-0578, which is the model number on this listing, says it is suitable for Safescan cash drawers, that it is USB powered, and that the drawer side is specified as 12V or 24V. "All Safescan drawers" is Safescan's claim. It is not a claim for other brands, and it does not turn the drawer into a USB device. Square's USB list does not name the UC-100. Pos-Hardware notes that a USB trigger still needs the till software to fire it.

  • Who it is for: a Windows PC till with no receipt printer, paired with a Safescan drawer whose voltage you have confirmed, if the software can send the open command.
  • Who it is not for: a tablet, a printer that already has a DK port, or a non-Safescan RJ drawer.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: New, shipper and seller Paperstone, in stock. Not Amazon Resale. Not labelled Amazon Global Store. Safescan's sheet says 3 years. This listing does not state that period, and the offer line was the legal-warranty widget, so the 3 years are not promised for this seller.

Check price on Amazon

Infinity EPOS MK-410: manual float

The title says push to open and close, 41 x 42 x 10 cm, with no cable. The bullets say a removable 4-note and 8-coin tray and a 2-position lock. There is no voltage, because there is no kick circuit. It will not open when a sale is completed.

  • Who it is for: a stall, a pop-up, or a second float.
  • Who it is not for: a till that should open only after a sale.

Offer checked 8 November 2026: the first shipper / seller line was Infinity EPOS, and New was a buying option. A further line named Cashregistergroup. A Used buying option was also on the page. Read the condition word and the seller. It was not described as Amazon Resale, and it was not labelled Amazon Global Store. The product description says "Warranty: 1 year", after the list of what is included. That is the listing's claim. This guide has not confirmed that cover with Infinity, and the offer line was Amazon's legal-warranty widget, which is not the same as a 1 year promise for this seller.

Check price on Amazon

When you do not need a drawer

If the business takes very little cash, a card reader and a lockable box can be enough. Payment hardware is covered in the best card machine for a UK small business guide. If cash is part of the day, choose the receipt printer first, then a drawer that matches that printer's voltage and pinout. Barcode scanning at the same counter is in the barcode scanner guide.

FAQ

Do I need a cash drawer if I already have a receipt printer?

Only if you take cash. A printer-driven drawer is the usual choice, and the printer opens it after the sale. The printer manual has to match the drawer voltage and the pinout. The 24V button on this page is Safescan article 132-0750, not listing B00AUV6FOO.

What size cash drawer do I need, 13 inch or 16 inch?

About 330 mm suits a smaller counter. About 410 mm is the standard front-opening size in Pos-Hardware's guide. The flip-top on this page is 460 mm wide and only 170 mm deep, and the lid has to stay clear.

Will my Epson or Star printer kick a drawer open?

Many Epson and Star thermal printers have a drawer-kick port. That port is not a promise that every RJ11 or RJ12 drawer will open, or that the voltage matches. Check the printer manual. Square's UK page lists printer-driven Star and APG drawers as a family, and it lists separate USB models. The Vasario button here is not one of those USB models.

What voltage should I buy, 12V or 24V?

For most UK receipt printers, Pos-Hardware says 24V, and it warns that a 12V drawer on a 24V port can burn the solenoid. On 8 November 2026 the confirmed 24V Safescan article was 132-0750 (EAN 8717496339096) on B0HLX81QYR. Listing B00AUV6FOO is not that article. The LD-4141 and SD-4617S listings did not state a voltage.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More from AI & Tools: best receipt printer for small business, best barcode scanner for small business and best label printer for small business. Card machines are in Run the Business. Read how we review.